For The Fans Of The Supernatural

This post is for all those who love the theme ‘supernatural’ whether in books, movies or anything else. Who doesn’t enjoy a good spine-chilling horror movie once in a while? It gives a good break to the usual themes of romance, tragedies, etc. I use “supernatural” as a blanket term to include ghosts, zombies, demons, vampires and all other creatures and forms man’s imagination has given birth to. I like making lists so here is a small list of books, movies, TV shows which follow this theme and are better than the rest.

Movies:

This is my favorite genre in movies, so I have watched a good number of them. These are the ones I liked watching(meaning – I can watch it any number of times without loosing interest).

  • The Exorcist- I watched this first when I was 12 and it scared the hell out of me and I still find it creepy.
  • The Omen- Here I refer to the original movie.
  • The Descent
  • 28 Days later
  • Twilight saga – It’s not a horror movie but the theme is supernatural and I make you of this excuse to include it in my list since I’m a fan.
  • Ring
  • Shutter
  • Grudge
  • Nightmare on Elm Street– Its more of slasher film but it did release Freddie Kruger in our minds.
  • Poltergeist
  • Paranormal Activity –Its good movie considering the low-budget and few effects.
  • 30 Days of night.

There might be a few more but I can’t remember their names right now.

TV shows:

There are very few TV shows of this theme available in my country so I’ll name those which I have seen at least a few episodes.

  • The Walking Dead – I watched the whole season and I loved it.
  • Teen Wolf
  • Supernatural – I have watched 5 seasons and it is a pretty good show. I  love the actors so I watch it whenever possible.
  • The Vampire Diaries
  • True Blood

Books:
I have read only a few number of books related to this theme so this list is very small.

  • Twilight saga -( I use the same reason I  mentioned before)
  • Sleepy Hollow
  • Bram Stocker’s Dracula
  • Goosebumps, Fear street by R.L.Stine – I used to love reading this series as a kid.
  • Books by Stephen King – I have just started reading so I will comment about it later.

I have heard about the following authors but haven’t read their books till now – Graham Masterton, Richard Laymond and James Herbert.

This is not an exhaustive list as it is written from what I have seen, read and heard. There may be tons of other items better than those named here, so if you know about any please leave a comment to let me and others know 🙂 .

To all the fans I also include the best song capturing the essence of horror. Hope you enjoy.

14 thoughts on “For The Fans Of The Supernatural

  1. Annie says:

    I used to read Goosebumps as a kid as well, I absolutely loved them! And I never saw the usual twist at the end coming… My favourite was “The Ghost Next Door”, that one completely blew my mind 😉 I like you blog! Following it now 🙂

  2. rantonit says:

    Oh man , we’re very different people ….. very .At least I started out thinking that way after seeing the movies you listed , then I saw true blood and vampire diaries …. and then goosebumps ….. and then I remembered about hip hop and rap (0.o) . Needless to say I’m subscribing .

  3. Leah says:

    I absolutely LOVE Bram Stoker’s Dracula. I usually don’t get scared by books but this one actually really creeped me out!

  4. ipegasus says:

    Even though oldies, I would totally add Buffy the Vampire Slayer to the list, and also Dr. Who for kicks. xD

  5. mmilano35 says:

    Great list of movies in this post. My personal favorite is The Exorcist.

Leave a Reply

