Movie Week

This week has turned into movie week for me. Saw two new movies at the cinemas, saw some movies on TV that I haven’t seen before and planning to watch some more before this week ends. Thought I would share my view on the new movies that I saw.

The Three Musketeers

An Action/Adventure movie.This movie is for those who like action movies because there are a lot of nicely choreographed fight scenes in it. Even though it is also classified under romance there is nothing in the movie to fit that genre. Everyone must already know the plot, considering there are more than 10 versions of the movie to date and a novel. Here is the outline of the plot; The musketeers have been disbanded – D’Artagnan, hot-headed aspiring musketeer, joins the three heroes Arthos, Porthos and Aramis – They have to deal with a double agent, Milady (Milla Jovovich) and save France from coming under the control of The Cardinal who wants to start a war with England. The movie is quite good but I found it a bit too fast. They tried to fit the whole story in two hours so it’s a little rushed. Even with the above flaw the movie is enjoyable and the acting really good.

My rating : 6/10

 

Real Steel

A really awesome movie!! I didn’t have much hopes for this movie earlier and thought it was just another sci-fi flick. I only went for this because there weren’t any other good movies playing in the cinemas here and at least there is Hugh Jackman 🙂 . Well, Surprise! Surprise!! The movie turned out to be awesome( I’ll have to repeat this word a lot for describing this movie ).The story is told in a very good way, there is humor and most of all there is absolutely awesome action scenes.

Here is short summary from IMBD “Set in the near future, where robot boxing is a top sport, a struggling promoter feels he’s found a champion in a discarded robot. During his hopeful rise to the top, he discovers he has an 11-year-old son who wants to know his father.”

It doesn’t come anywhere near Transformers but it has become my second favorite movie featuring robots. I loved the robot boxing part. I will recommend this movie as “Must Watch” if you are the action movie type. The soundtrack is really nice. Here is the link for the songlist :  http://www.tunefind.com/movie/real-steel

My rating 8/10

16 thoughts on “Movie Week

  1. I really want to see both of those movies, so I’m glad you thought they were good! Although I did have higher hopes for the 3 Musketeers being a little better. Thanks for sharing! 😀

  2. I’ve seen the ad for Real Steel and I didn’t really have much expectations…I’m not really into sci-fi flicks but I might give it a try now since you liked it 🙂

    I have wanted to see the 3 Musketeers ever since I found out they were doing another remake! Have you seen Pride and Prejudice? I think the guy playing Mr Darcy is also in the 3 Musketeers.

  3. I saw The Three Musketeers last weekend and wasn’t impressed with it at all.

  4. Every time I watch the “Real Steel” trailer, I can’t help but think it’s so cheesy. But I did end up adding it to my Netflix queue just in case. Hopefully, I’ll be pleasantly surprised.

  5. Ben Shotter says:

    Yeah id like to see Reel Steel too. Glad you recommend it! Cant beat a good film 🙂

  6. I’m really looking forward to seeing The Three Musketeers, although I’m not sure it will beat my favourite which is the 1973 film starring Oliver Reed 🙂

    As for Reel Steel didn’t instantly appeal to me but my boyfriend really wants to go, so I will most likely go with him.

  7. Lori Franks says:

    I want to see both of these movies also. A friend of mine just watched Real Steel and she liked it too. Who doesn’t like Hugh Jackman? Thanks for the review.

    • mheretowrite says:

      I’m a fan of Hugh Jackman ever since I saw him as Wolverine.I was a big fan of X-Men cartoon series as a kid 🙂 . Glad you liked the review and hope you get to watch them soon.

Leave a Reply

