Movie Review: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

I finally got around to watching this movie. I have to say this is one of the few book-adaptations that i have seen which actually does justice to the book. The acting is truly superb. If you have read my book review then you know that I LOVE Lisbeth’s character. When I saw the Swedish movie I thought that Noomi Rapace was awesome and no one can be a better ‘Lisbeth’. So I was  pretty curious to see Rooney Mara’s acting. I’m happy to say she was just as good.

For those of you who have no idea about the movie/novel, let me give a little outline of the story. This is crime- thriller based on the novel of the same name by Stieg Larsson,following Mikael Blomkvist’s attempt to solve the mystery surrounding  the disappearance of a girl 40 years ago.

Mikael Blomkvist, a Journalist an part-owner of Millenium magazine is facing a libel case for mentioning the shady side of a businessman named Hans-Erik Wennerstrom. He looses the case and his savings. Henrik Vanger approaches him with a proposition. Solve the mystery about the disappearance of his niece and in return he would provide proof about Wennerstrom’s shady character to help Blomkvist. The Vanger family are millionaires once owning various businesses but the family as a whole can be described shortly as a dysfunctional and no ones seems to talk to one another. When Blomkvist asks for an assistant he is informed of a brilliant researcher, Lisbeth Salander, who actually did the background check on him for the Vanger family. Together they uncover a series of murders that might be the work of a serial killer and  disturbing secrets about some of the Vanger family members. The movie also follows Lisbeth’s life as a form of sub-plot.  When you read the book you get a definite mental picture of Lisbeth and I liked the fact that the movie portrayal of her character is the same as i pictured when reading.The ending of the movie is different from that of the book but it doesn’t spoil the movie in any way.

I don’t think i need to explain the movie in detail because between the book and movie and everything else surrounding this story almost everyone knows what its about. The cast was really good. Daniel Craig and Rooney Mara did an excellent job of bringing the characters to life.Cant wait to watch the next part. If you haven’t seen it yet it is a movie worth watching.

10 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

  1. bwbears says:

    I like this movie too, the book even better!

  2. This film is on my to be watched list 🙂

  3. There’s something holding me back from watching these or reading the books, i’m not sure what!

    • mheretowrite says:

      Hmm.. Its really good. I hope you change your mind soon. Why don’t you give the movie a try? Its take less time than the book. If you like what you see try the book for the next part.

  4. I absolutely love the book and am a huge fan of David Fincher and Daniel Craig, yet I’ve not had a chance to see the movie yet. I’ve heard wonderful things and am dying to see it but just haven’t gotten around to it. I will redouble my efforts after this glowing review.

  5. Agree with you, the film and the book are both great and the acting in the new movie was just brillient 🙂

Leave a Reply

